GC3 Honors 32 Outstanding Faculty

GC3 Honors 32 Outstanding Faculty

On Friday, October 27, 2017, the Greater Cincinnati Collegiate Connection sponsored its 30th Annual Celebration of Teaching Luncheon at Steigerwald Hall on the campus of Thomas More College.  For 30 years, GC3 has gathered together the faculty award winners at its member institutions to honor them collectively for the great work they do in and out of the classroom. David A. Armstrong, JD, Dr. H. James Williams, President Mount St. Joeseph CollegePresident of Thomas More College and John Sullivan, President of the Art Academy of Cincinnati presided over the event by introducing officials from each GC3 member who acknowledged their honoree.  Armstrong, who also serves as the Chair of the GC3 Board of Trustees, welcomed the group and introduced H. James Williams, JD, President of Mount St. Joseph University, who gave the invocation. 

A fantastic keynote address was presented by Karen Finan, President and CEO of the Northern Kentucky Regional Alliance.  Mrs. Finan’s remarks highlighted the many initiatives the Northern Kentucky Regional Alliance is involved in and how the honored faculty can impact and drive each effort.   Her remarks referenced the Upcoming Northern Kentucky Education Council’s Champions for Education Summit the theme of which is “regional advancement through education”.

Included in this year’s “class”  of honorees are:  David Beck and Brett Price, Art Academy of Cincinnati; Reverend Paul Keller, Athenaeum of Ohio-Mount St. Mary’s Seminary; Karen Crumley, Chatfield College; Sandra Beam, Cincinnati Christian University; Juliana Johns and Abigail Yee, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College; Meredith Mason, Gateway Community & Technical College; Karan Singh, Good Samaritan College of Nursing and Health Science; Lynette Hudiburgh, Miami University; Ziyang Jiang, Wenxi Liu, Stephanie Nicely and Jim McCutcheon, Miami University Regional Campuses; Jamie Titus, Mount St. Joseph University; Andrea Fieler, Stan Ginn, Amber Onorato and Sandra Turkelson, Northern Kentucky University; Dorothea Zivkovic, The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences; Kim Haverkos, Ellie Megerle and Greg Procaccino, Thomas More College; Christine Colella, Mark Fellows Dana Griffith, Elliott Manzon, Ric Sweeney and Patricia Wigle, University of Cincinnati; Ruth Benander, UC—Blue  Ash College; Marlaina Leppert-Wahl, Wilmington College; Steven Frankel, Xavier University.

Each honoree received a certificate of appreciation for their dedication to their institution and students plus a gift card.  Janet Piccirillo, GC3's Executive Director, stated "Somewhere along the way, we all had a teacher who made a difference for us.  It is exciting to have a room full of award-winning teachers and celebrate them as a group.  To have Karen Finan reinforce the impact of these educators on their community and the region is an important for them to hear and remember.”

CLICK HERE to see more pictures from the event!

The Greater Cincinnati Collegiate Connection is a non-profit alliance of 18 regionally accredited institutions which advocates for higher education and uses the collective strength of its institutional members to positively influence the value of higher learning in the Greater Cincinnati region.  It promotes professional development and opportunities for collaborative learning to advance the effectiveness of all members.
For more information on the 30th Annual Celebration of Teaching or the Greater Cincinnati Collegiate Connection, contact Janet Piccirillo, Executive Director at piccirillj1@nku.edu or 859-392-2428.